History of the Queensland Country Life Miss Showgirl Awards

The idea of conducting a Miss Showgirl Competition was first brought to a Queensland Chamber Meeting in February 1982 by Mr Bevan Standsby, the South West Queensland Delegate at the time.

In June 1982, the Darling Downs Sub-Chamber Delegate and State Vice President, Mr Gilbert Lange again raised the matter and after much debating and persuasive argu­ment it was agreed to run a Final in 1983. A committee appointed from the Darling Downs (Mrs Lillian Krog, and Messrs Graham Jensen, Gilbert Lange and Richard Pietsch) conducted the event. After consultation with Mr Blair Chadwick from Queensland Country Life (who were to be the major sponsors) the contest was under­way. Other sponsors were obtained and Rules were drawn up using the New South Wales Competition Criteria as a guideline.

The first Showgirl Winner was Esther Smith from South West Queensland and Charmaine Bondfield from the Darling Downs was Runner-up. In 1984 the first National Final was held and since then two Queensland girls have taken out the Na­tional Title; namely Kim Watkins in 1986 and Kylie Farmer in 1992. Kim became well known as a TV presenter. The National Miss Showgirl Competition ceased in 2000.

Since its inception in 1983 the Showgirl Awards has offered the opportunity to hundreds of young Queensland women to become involved in one of the great Australian traditions their Local Show. The Awards are just one of the many ways that allow the youth of Queensland to participate in their local Show. Showgirl Awards, Rural Ambassador and Young Judges are all hosted by the Queensland Chamber of Agricultural Societies the governing body of Queensland Shows. Our aim is to broaden the knowledge and participation of our youth in the Show Movement. We hope all participants will continue their association by becoming involved with the "Next Gen" a Sub Committee of the Queensland Chamber.